Far over the misty mountains cold

Hello sweeties,

This is another post about a film I saw last week. And there’s another one to come. “Oh my god you’re going so often at the cinema these days, what’s happening?” I can hear you say with astonishment. I’m almost considering the idea of subscribing to an unlimited cinema pass. Just because I saw 4 films in 2 weeks while I don’t go to the cinema the rest of the year. Reasonable choice, obviously.

Anyway, today, let’s talk about

the hobbit an unexpected journey

OOOOOHMYYYYYGOOOOOD

Watched it eventually! For those who still don’t know what it’s about, it’s simply The Lords of The Ring‘s prequel, how Bilbo meets Gandalf (and Gollum and the Ring) and how he defeats the dragon Smaug to help the Dwarves to take their homeland back. Epic adventure, bitches.

I watched the film in 48fps 3D. Sounds like it’s a barbarian foreign language? It was for me too. I’m showing off because that’s what boyfriend told me and I’m just repeating, I don’t understand anything in audiovisual techniques. He explained that it was a crazy process in which the movements are more divided than in the classic 24fps shootings. Basically, it means that there are more pics per second (48 frames per second instead of 24)(got it now?).
 All I can say is that it’s pretty weird. I couldn’t say if this technology progress makes the film *better* or not. The rendering is impressive at least. It really is different from classic 3D. I actually felt like I was into video games cinematics. But esthetically, I guess 24fps wins. As there’s less blooming, you see the movements breakdown. It looks less smooth, so less pretty visually. To me, it actually gives a kitschy style in some way. It’s quite hard to explain, I think you really need to see it. That was a great experience though, I didn’t cry of pain at the end of the film. My eyes are quite sensitive, I can’t enjoy 3D films to the end, because it just freaking hurts my eyes and head (people think I’m crying because I’m moved. I’m just suffering in silence). +1 for you 48fps then. And the incredible sound system of the cinema theater we’ve been (Pathé Wepler, place de Clichy for Parisians) made the thing so realistic sometimes that it was disturbing.

"Hello Kili"

“Hello Kili, yes Kili, be at my service Kili”

Concerning the film itself, it’s cooooool. With 6 Os. The landscapes are of course beautiful and the characters are appealing. Martin Freeman is OF COURSE absolutely perfect as Bilbo. It makes the character even cuter.

fangirl

There’s not that much to say about the film. Epic fights (Trolls! Orcs! Stone Giants! Gobelins!), funny lines (the meeting between Bilbo and Gollum is awesome), emotional scenes. Everything is there. Even sexiness.

kili_that was a really hot guyI have to confess I cried a bit during the hedgehog scene. Thank God we were all carrying 3D glasses eh. I was just like

feelings

“SEBASTIAAAN”

 But it’s not my fault. I mean, don’t give names to animals if you don’t want people to become attached to them, that’s so cruel! Boyfriend guessed I was sniveling ha. Shame.

There are some things I didn’t like in the film though. Some scenes are a bit too long maybe. And I find that the Gollum’s faces show was ridiculous. At the beginning, it was great, I was like “Woah, face sensors, you make it so realistic”. But then it became stupid. “Okay guys, I think we got it now, can you tell the actor to stop doing all the facial expressions in the world?”. This is by the way an example of scenes that lasted a bit too long.
Also, I was quite disappointed that we don’t see that much Smaug.

Apart from this, The Hobbit is great. Now, can we just all sit down and listen quietly to this?

Good Lord, this soundtrack.

Intervention

