Face care routine – April 2013

Hello sweeties,

Well yes, the post title is boring. But the content is less (hopefully).

For a few years now, I do layering skin care. Layering is a japanese technique that I  discovered through Sonia’s blog and, intrigued, I started to follow this routine. The principle is to superimpose layers (whence “layering”) of products. The 3 basic gestures are cleansing, tonering, moisturizing. Then you can add specific care products and stuff. It’s not that much time taking than the usual washing-face-with-soap-and-barely-moisturizing-it and it’s a real pleasure ritual.

I’m under the impression that I know my skin better thanks to that. I have a dehydrated and sensitive combination skin. Meh. It’s super oily on the nose and as dry as desert on the cheeks. I have small imperfections, blackheads and sudden redness (in particular on the cheeks). But I’m ok with that. I never had acne, I rarely have spots and my priority is rather to have a comfortable skin than a flawless one and this is how I choose my face care products. I first want moisturizing and appeasement.

Speaking about how I choose my products, I try to favor bio. My make-up products are full of bullshit, so I try to rebalance my chakras (wut) with a healthier skin care. And when not bio, I tend to use pharmacy products (because they’re supposed to be safe for sensitive skins and not very expensive) or asian brands (because they’re great value and more adapted to my asian skin, surprise). Enough with the life talking, let’s get into the heart of the matter. face care routine 1 © WinaMorning :

  • Detoxifying cleansing foam – Etat Pur

face care routine 2 © Winaface care routine 3 © WinaIn the morning, I wake up (thank God) and after the obligatory sacred cup of tea, I wash my face with Etat Pur Detoxifying Cleansing Foam. I love cleansing foams because they’re gentle and last veeery long (I’m using this bottle since… Since… Well I can’t even tell. Probably December). In early April, it was very cold in Paris and my skin was so dry that nothing could be done about it I guess, even the Detoxifying Cleansing Foam was *aggressive* for me (I could see my skin start to peel off after each wash, ugh). In the second part of April, it did its usual perfect job.

[French readers, I already talked about it here yup yup]

  • Thermal Water – Avène

face care routine 4 © WinaObligatory step for me since I discovered that I have a dehydrated skin. It helped me a lot with the cold weather. I spray it all over my face and also on my neck, I wait that it dries a bit (but not completely), just before applying the toner. I also use it each time I spot some random redness on my face, it really calms my skin. It’s a good investment, I have the 300 mL spray and it cost me something like 8€.

  • Anduze Region Bamboo Hydrolate – Aromazone

face care routine 5 © WinaA hydrolate is a product of plants distillation.
I use that as a toner, applied with a cotton pad when my face still have some Thermal Water on it. It takes the last impurities off and start the moisturize step. I like the light smell of this hydrolate. I bought mine on Aromazone, but I guess you can find it elsewhere. It also is supposed to regulate sebum, but I didn’t see that mush difference. I guess it’s ok.

  • Sensitive skin moisturizer – Mixa

face care routine 6 © Wina Cheap, efficient, non greasy. Really nice. It was my best friend this winter, but in March and early April, it wasn’t enough anymore because the cold weather has last too long and my skin couldn’t handle it anymore. But now it’s good again!

Night :

Same routine, but with my homemade bio cleansing oil in addition.

face care routine 7 © Wina

face care routine 8 © Wina

Tiny washed brain ha

In layering, cleansing oil is recommended for removing make-up. Or any rich make-up remover (like the cream ones), because that’s what works the best. Forget the cleansing milk, micellar water and even more the cleansing wipes. First, it’s more aggressive. Second, it’s less efficient. Third, it’s cotton pads waste. You really see the difference when you switch to cleansing oil. Oh and try to use those that don’t have mineral oils in it (= come from petrol, yummy), favor vegetal oils.
My experimented cleansing oil is made of argan oil and water melon (not watermelon) oil. I added Babassu foam, so that it emulsifies with water (= change into a kind of milk) and drops of E vitamin to make sure that I’ll conserve it for a while. But I think I messed up with the quantity of Babassu because it’s all thick (like custard), hard to massage. Or maybe is it because I shaked the bottle too much. Anyway, it does the job though, as well as the cleansing oils that I bought before, and maybe better. And it’s total safe, no itchy eyes, yeepee!

Phew! Finally, this is the end of the post. Hope you’re still alive and that it interested you (a bit)(a tiny tiny bit).

Intervention

